• Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

In the United States of America, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) requires a business intending to franchise to follow specific rules and laws.  Before a franchisor can franchise in Canada, Mexico and a number of other nations, other specific requirements of those nations must be satisfied.

Franchise Registration Filing Requirements

Registration States 


These states REQUIRE a franchise registration application to be filed and granted, BEFORE offers or sales may be made of franchises. Also, a state specific franchise disclosure document (FDD) with state addendum is required:

  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota

Exemption States

These states REQUIRE a notice of exemption filing, BEFORE offers or sales may be made of franchises. Also, the FTC rules apply when offering or selling franchises in theses states and the FTC FDD: 

  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Kentucky 
  • Nebraska 
  • Texas 
  • Utah

These states DO NOT require formal franchise registration.  However, you must follow the FTC rules when offering or selling franchises.  Once the FTC FDD is completed, you may begin to offer or sell franchises in these states immediately (including the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico).

FTC States

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana